Travel Tag – A Bit of Sunday Fun

My lovely friend Bree over at 3 Sisters Abroad recently did this amazing Travel Tag that she saw on the blog of https://beafree.com  Please go and check out both of these terrific blogs.  When I saw the Travel Tag post it appealed to me as I love writing about travel and adore photos.

Anything that reminds us of the good times and brings back special memories is a good thing, yes? Enjoy and I hope to see you join in and take part in bringing back some of your own special memories.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE PLACE THAT YOU HAVE VISITED?

Termoli, Italy, was amazing as it was the home of John’s uncle who he had never met before our visit there in 2014. It was an authentic Italian experience, as we stayed at the home of  Zio Carmine and Zia Liliana. They felt like family, despite some language difficulties at times. It was comfortable and familiar to be there. It felt like somewhere we had been before, since there were lots of similarities in their home to the home of John’s family in Hobart. It was an emotional and memorable visit, especially the multi-course lunch that the whole family treated us to up in the hills of Italy. It was a magical experience. I am so glad we got to take our boys there and they got to have this awesome experience too.

 

IF YOU COULD VISIT ANYWHERE TOMORROW WHERE WOULD YOU GO?

I gushed at length about the village of Lacock, England in my previous post Lacock, England. I would visit again in a heartbeat. Hopefully I would stay in the village and have lots more time to explore that part of England, as well as many other places in the UK I would love to see. Some more memories of the wonderful village of Lacock are here to tempt your travel taste-buds if you’ve never been before….:)

 

WOULD YOU RATHER GO ON A CITY HOLIDAY OR A BEACH HOLIDAY?

City holiday. No question. I adore history. I love the busyness of cities, the vibrant activity and the different things to see around every street corner. The city is full of life and there are a myriad of stories to be learned about a city and its people, present and past.

Peta pics London Eye (34).JPG

London – my favourite city in the world – from the London Eye. June 2014.

MY TOP THREE HOLIDAY ESSENTIALS ARE:

Camera, phone and face spritz bottle.

Augustus Gardens Isle of Capri (17)_edited-1.jpg

Isle of Capri, Italy. I didn’t go far without my trusty Nikon DSLR3200. Or my phone and refreshing face spray to wake up – especially on all those early mornings 🙂

ARE YOU AN OVER PACKER OR AN UNDER PACKER?

 

It is safe to say that I am an over packer. In saying that, though,  during our overseas trip in 2014 – I was the one largely responsible for packing and unpacking for FOUR people. For FOUR weeks. Note the cases, neatly packed and organised at the start of the trip, (RHS photo). So the mess (LHS photo) can be excused (?!) as we’d had a few weeks wonderful holidaying already by the time this photo was taken in Venice. That meant, of course, lots of shopping had occured.

Florence Hotel Adler Cavalieri bag packing lol

Trying to do up one of the suitcases in Florence! 

The mess below perhaps can not be so easily explained away. I only had my own stuff to deal with. My sister and I cruised the South Pacific for seven wonderful nights to celebrate (or commiserate) my 40th birthday!

My overloaded suitcase even caused issues once we were back on dry land, ready to board the flight home back at Brisbane airport. Visit (or re-visit) the story of the spectacular suitcase fall at THE Suitcase Stack

I would like to add that I have learnt that dragging heaps of stuff around is just an absolute pain. I can see myself, as I get older, being someone to pack a few items and wear them until they are threadbare. I would rather spend the time DOING and SEEING than packing up and pulling around STUFF.

 

WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE THING ABOUT GOING ON HOLIDAYS?

Seeing and experiencing things for ‘real’ that you have seen on TV, read about or heard about. Taking photos and videos as much as possible, to record these memorable moments AND keeping a faithful travel diary to remember as much as possible later on.

DSC_0480

Dinner at a magical villa in the Tuscan hills. Breathtaking views from the window we sat next to and enjoyed our three course dinner and dancing.

WOULD YOU RATHER GO ON HOLIDAYS WITH FAMILY OR FRIENDS?

Both! There were thirteen of us – six adults and seven kids – on our holiday to Dubai and Europe in 2014. It was chaotic, loud, hectic and fun. There are a few stories about this on my blog which you should check out, if you haven’t already. Here is one that is worth a look  Travel With Kids  It was an awesome experience and something I will always be glad we did as a family of four. Watching my boys spin around on the same ride (Mad Hatter’s Tea Party ride) at Disneyland that I went on, when I was single years earlier, was amazing. The cruise that my sister and I took in 2013 was special, as were the trips she and I have taken to Melbourne together over the years. I could go on forever in answering this question but I won’t. Suffice to say that there are stories already posted and more to come, so keep your eye on my blog to see more about this and lots of other topics.

 

 

 

WHAT IS THE MOST ADVENTUROUS DISH YOU HAVE EVER TRIED FROM ANOTHER COUNTRY?

I didn’t eat anything very adventurous BUT John and the boys tried escargot (snails) in Paris 🙂 John and Jacob didn’t mind them but Josh didn’t like them at all.

cafe-le-corner-paris-dinner-june-30-my-phn-11.jpg

WHO DO YOU WANT TO DO THIS TAG?

Ideally, I’d love everyone to have a go. I would love to see Tracy Stuart and Peta Hill put some of their thoughts down, whether about this trip or other trips that they have taken and enjoyed.  Thanks, Esther 🙂

NB. I linked the blog details/addresses at the top of this post but I am putting them again here as the actual post didn’t seem to pick up the link.

https://3sistersabroad.wordpress.com/

https://beafree.com/

 

2 thoughts on “Travel Tag – A Bit of Sunday Fun

Leave a Reply

